14 Jan , 2017

After this year, there will likely be 16 or 17 States that allow people to carry concealed handguns without a permit: Constitutional Carry

With Missouri, West Virginia, and Idaho enacting Constitutional Carry laws last year, twelve states allow people to carry without a permit in all or virtually all their states.  This includes Montana that allows people to carry without a permit in about 99.4% of the state.    And 2017 is shaping up as a banner year for passing more of these laws.  …

19 Dec , 2016

handgun_qualification_license_training

Concealed Carry Permit Holders Getting Training Even When It Isn’t Required

While adopting Constitutional Carry in Idaho means that training is no longer mandated by state law, the Idaho Statesman has some interviews that show that even people who are carrying without a permit still feel the need to get training.  However, the benefit of not having the formal regulations on training means that the cost of training has probably gone down, and it can be done when it is most convenient.  …

,

15 Sep , 2016

Flag_of_Missouri.svg

Missouri becomes 12th state allowing people to carry concealed handguns without a permit

After a 24-6 veto override vote in the state Senate and a 112-41 vote in the state House, Missouri joins Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Montana (99.4% of state), Mississippi, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.  Yet, because of Federal regulations, Constitutional carry is more limited than most people think.

Bloomberg’s gun control groups unsuccessfully made a full court press on this issue to try flipping the votes of a couple vulnerable members of the state Senate, spending large amounts of money on advertising and polling.…

30 Mar , 2016

Missoula 1,000 foot school zones

The Very Real Limits on Constitutional Carry: The Problem with Gun-Free School Zones

We have recently noted that with new laws being passed in West Virginia and Idaho it is possible to carry concealed handguns in 10 states without a permit (in addition, in Montana you can do that outside of city limits). But Federal law clearly hasn’t caught up with the Constitutional Carry movement.  …

26 Mar , 2016

en.-WidePar-74257-Image.WideParimage.2.2

Idaho moves to complete Constitutional Carry

On Thursday March 24, 2016, Idaho Governor Butch Otter signed Constitutional Carry into law in Idaho.  Idaho had previously only required a permit within city limits, and this bill eliminates that requirement.  The bill had been passed by veto proof margins in both the state House (54-15) and Senate (27-8).  There are now 10 states that don’t require a permit to carry anywhere in their states and Montana, which has the old Idaho regulation requiring permits within city limits.  …

5 Mar , 2016

Flag_of_West_Virginia.svg

West Virginia becomes 11th state with Constitutional Carry

On Saturday, West Virginia’s state Senate overrode the Governor Tomblin by a 23 to 11 vote.  On Friday, the state House overrode it by 66-34.    18 to 21 year olds will still need a permit, but those over 21 will be able to carry without one.  West Virginia is now added to states that adopted this last year ) Kansas, Mississippi, Maine) and Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Wyoming, and Vermont.  …

20 Aug , 2015

Gun sales up 50 percent after Constitutional Carry

Gun sales soar in Maine ahead of Constitutional Carry being enacted

CPRC has shown the huge increase in the number of concealed handgun permits in the US, rising from 4.6 million in 2007 to 12.8 million earlier this year.  One question though is whether people with permits already own guns or whether this represents a change in the number of people with guns.  …

13 Jul , 2015

With Maine, ten states no longer require concealed handgun permits in all or virtually all of the state

Last Wednesday, Maine Gov. Paul LePage signed into law a bill to eliminate the concealed gun permit requirement in Maine.  Permit requirements also ended in Kansas and Mississippi on July 1st.  That raises the total of states that don’t require permits anywhere in the state to eight (also including Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Wyoming, and Vermont).  …

30 May , 2015

Maine set to be the 10th state with Constitutional Carry

After bills passed earlier in the year in Kansas and Mississippi, Maine seems set to follow suit.  It will bring the total number of states that allow carrying handguns without a permit to 10.  Republican Gov. Paul LePage is set to sign the bill.  A copy of the bill is available here.  …

27 Mar , 2015

Kansas and Mississippi set to become 8th and 9th states to allow carrying without a permit

With overwhelming votes in the state House (85-39) and Senate (31-8), a Constitutional Carry bill has been sent to Kansas Governor Brownback who is expected to sign it.  In Mississippi, a bill that would allow those who carry a gun “in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bag or briefcase or fully enclosed case” to carry without a permit.  …